Summer Bodies Are Made in the Winter! Starting January 6th!

By now, Insanity has become a household name (unless you’ve been living under a rock ;) ) It is one of the best-selling and hardest workout programs put onto DVD. Shaun T. created this workout and as the name implies, it is insane. But it’s not only insane as a workout, but you will get insane results. If not, you probably weren’t eating right, sleeping enough, etc. Or it could even be a deeper issue, like a health condition. Let’s hope that isn’t the case.

What is Insanity?

INSANITY® is a 60-day cardio- based total-body conditioning program that’s the most intense workout ever put on DVD. Fitness expert Shaun T drew on his collegiate track and field training, plus his subsequent years of experience as an elite trainer, to create a program that takes total-body conditioning to an extreme level. Just as P90X is the height of resistance training, INSANITY is the pinnacle of cardio training.

Why is it effective?

Interval training allows you to beat the “stress adaptation response,” which is what happens when your body gets used to exercising at one level of exertion and stops improving. An interval workout includes a set where you perform at your maximum, followed by one of lower intensity, with the cycle repeated to achieve a cumulative effect.

INSANITY uses MAX Interval Training, which replaces your moderate- intensity exercise with maximum-intensity exercise, and your short intervals of intensity with short periods of rest. Adding high-intensity exercise, during which your heart rate increases to 80 percent or more of its maximum capacity, forces your body to use fast-twitch muscle fibers not normally engaged in cardio exercise. These fast-twitch fibers continue burning extra fuel even during lower-intensity exercise.

INSANITY’s high-intensity activity is likely to have you working out at over 85 percent of your maximum capacity, instead of the lower rate recommended in other programs. As a result, you’ll experience faster increases in fitness and more efficient burning of carbohydrates and fat—as much as 1,000 calories per hour.

What can it do for you?

INSANITY pushes you beyond what you thought was possible with explosive cardio and plyometric drills and nonstop intervals of strength, power, and resistance. Additional ab and core training techniques will help you transform your body in just 60 days.

Instead of working out moderately, with short bursts of intensity, INSANITY demands long periods of high-intensity exercise punctuated with short periods of rest.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

This program is targeted for conditioned athletes and I strongly suggest you are conditioned prior to this program, but newbies have done this workout, and have gotten incredible results. I am looking for 5-10 people to join me in the upcoming new year for an Insanity challenge. Please, please, please join me. I will try and make it a very fun and enjoyable experience. My Facebook URL is facebook.com/chelsea.fit and you’ll have to add me as a friend in order for me to add you to my private group. Don’t worry I’m not a stalker or what have you. In fact, I rarely look at anyone’s profiles on Facebook. I will help you get to your goals, I can answer fitness questions since I’m studying to become a personal trainer (though I can’t diagnose anything because I am not a doctor), and I will cheer you on.

I will keep reposting this entry until I get 5-10 participants. I may lose readers for this, but if you don’t want to keep seeing this message, get in my group and I won’t post this message often. ;) Also, if you know of anyone, please send them my way. I will take care of them. Thank you! And really, you have nothing to lose… except the unwanted weight, right? ;)

 

Leave a Reply

